Databases by Subject
APAMLANoodleBib
This is the "Home" page of the "Off-Campus Library Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Off-Campus Library Services  

Guide for students doing research off campus.
Last Updated: May 21, 2012 URL: http://libguides.foothill.edu/off_campus_services Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off-Campus Access

For off-campus access to the online databases and eBooks, you'll need your student ID.

 

Ask for Help

Call a librarian at (650) 949-7608 during the library's open hours.

  •     Mon - Thurs: 8 - 7 
  •     Friday: 8 - 4:30 

E-mail a question 24/7.

 

Getting Started

You've gotten an assignment from your instructor that requires doing some research. Where do you begin? The Library Home Page! It's your gateway to doing research at home.

Encyclopedias and Background Information

If you are not familiar with your topic, the resources below can provide an overview and introduce you to the associated vocabulary. This will help you later when you are trying to think of search terms to enter in a database.

  • Biography in Context: Comprehensive biographical reference collection in the areas of literature, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, arts and newsmakers.
  • CQ Researcher: In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online: Full text of over 120,000 articles; also includes a dictionary, thesaurus, atlas, thousands of images, and video clips.
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia: General encyclopedia with over 25,000 entries on a wide variety of topics.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Covers a wide variety of social issues, such gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, abortion, and terrorism.
  • Oxford Reference Online: Language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers in a single cross-searchable resource.

Off Campus Guide

Profile Image
Mary Thomas
Contact Info
(650) 949-7522
Room 3506 (in the library)
Send Email
 

Foothill College Library   •   12345 El Monte Road   •   Los Altos Hills   •   California   •     94022   •   (650) 949-7608


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip