APAMLAChicago Manual of StyleNoodleBib
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Library Research Basics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Research Basics   Tags: reference, research  

Tips on how to find books and articles in the library and on how to research and write a paper.
Last Updated: Sep 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.foothill.edu/research_basics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Us

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk
(650) 949-7608

Circulation & Reserve
(650) 949-7611

Media Center
(650) 949-7445

The library is in the former Media Center (bldg. 3600) for the 2014-'15 school year while the library building is being renovated. See Foothill College Library Remodel for more information.

Facebook  Twitter

 

Off-Campus Access

For off-campus access to the online databases and eBooks, you'll need your student ID.

You can also renew your books online from home.

 

Search the Library


Search the library catalog for books, eBooks, textbooks, periodicals, videos, DVDs, and other items that are available in the library and media center.




Basic Search  |  Advanced Search  |  Reserve Textbooks

Library Account  |  New Arrivals


Find articles, books, and more from a single search box. To go to a specific database, click on A-Z List of Databases below.

Search Multiple Databases


Basic Search  |  Advanced Search

A-Z List of Databases


Find a specific journal in the Foothill Library.

Search for Periodical Titles

Browse Periodicals by Subject

Browse Periodical Titles
0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

The Foothill Library has over 12,000 eBooks available for you to read. Search the library's eBook collection here:

eBook Collection

About eBooks

Encyclopedias and Background Information

  • Biography in Context
    Comprehensive biographical reference collection in the areas of literature, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, arts and newsmakers.
  • Encyclopædia Britannica
    Full text of over 120,000 articles; also includes a dictionary, thesaurus, atlas, thousands of images, and video clips.
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
    General encyclopedia with over 25,000 entries on a wide variety of topics.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Covers a variety of current social issues, such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, abortion, and terrorism.

The Assignment

Understanding Your Assignment

Before you begin your research, you should make sure you understand your assignment. Some good questions are:

How many pages should it be?
How many sources do I need?
What kinds of sources? Books,
   articles, websites? Scholarly or
   popular articles?

In what format should it be
   written?

Assignment Calculator

San Jose State's Assignment Calculator is a good resource to help you determine how much time you have to complete various aspects of your research and writing, given your starting date and due date.

      

    Foothill College Library   •   12345 El Monte Road   •   Los Altos Hills   •   California   •     94022   •   (650) 949-7608


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip